Missing dad


Image

Two mornings ago I got the call I was dreading. Dad had passed away at age 70.

Dad was a lot of things, but near the top of that list, he was an outdoorsman through-and-through. He harvested more deer in his lifetime than many people see in theirs. He was an avid fisherman. He loved raising bird dogs and for decades worked with his wife to build a solid reputation in the area for quality Brittany and Springer puppies.

There is much more to share and I’ll do so more in length in the next day or two. For now, I’m sorting through the oodles of photos of hunting camps, fishing trips and successful harvests past.

Dad will be missed. When I have more of a moment to wrap my head around all of this, I’ll share some of the reasons why.

For now, I just want to tip my hat to an outdoorsman who inspired a love of the outdoors in both his sons. That is a huge legacy all in itself.

~ by zaktansky on February 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

