Never underestimate the power of homemade salsa


Image

Don’t ever underestimate the power of homemade salsa.

Not just any homemade salsa, mind you, but my wife’s special blend of tomatoes, peppers and other tasty goodness. Several years ago, she got into canning with a few friends and we’ve been reaping the benefits ever since. She makes the best of the best spaghetti sauce, pizza sauce, strawberry jelly, canned peaches and much more.

However, it is her salsa that I especially find myself craving time after time. Give me a good bag of chips, some of her salsa and a little cream cheese and I’m on Cloud Nine. There is almost nothing I wouldn’t do for that salsa.

So when my wife started telling me that she really wanted a Kitchenaid mixer with attachments and that it would make her canning projects much easier, I was totally on board.

Until I heard the price.

More than $300 for a mixer? That’s a decade’s worth of fishing licenses, complete with complimentary trout stamps. I could get a top-of-the-line castle-sized tent with all the amenities for $300 — or a brand-new Emotion Spitfire kayak and color-coordinated life preserver.

But those visions of rainbows and rapids were quickly flushed out of my mind by thoughts of sauces and salsa. I knew my wife deserved the best, and finally, after lots of patience on her part, we recently invested in a Kitchenaid and a slew of attachments. Earlier this week, the package was delivered.

I was in shock. It turns out that Kitchenaids have more attachments than a John Deere 3-point hitch. The mixer is as versatile in the kitchen as my trusty Leatherman multi-tool is to me everywhere else.

Outside of a wide assortment of mixer options, a see-through plastic guard cover and other goodies, the Kitchenaid came with a meat grinder and sausage stuffer. Suddenly, I wish I had some freshly harvested venison to process. Why does deer season have to be so far away?

In the meantime, I decided to try out the complimentary Kitchenaid hand mixer that came with the set. It made short work of the sugars, butter, eggs, flour and other ingredients I needed for a homemade batch of peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. In fact, it was the best batch I ever whipped up.

Ultimately, I’ve known many outdoors enthusiasts who had no qualms throwing a good chunk of change at a quality pair of hiking boots or a well-bred hunting dog. With Mother’s Day fast approaching, it might a good time to let the ones you love know they are worth the extra investment — and if it means you get a few extra jars of salsa in the process, then all the better.

Check out more tasty treat observations at photographer Rob Inglis’ food blog. Email comments to jzaktansky@dailyitem.com

~ by zaktansky on April 17, 2013.

2 Responses to “Never underestimate the power of homemade salsa”

  1. Kitchenaids are pure magic. I had one bought secondhand that I killed with a piece of venison silverskin a year and a half ago. Always use the meat grinder on the full speed setting! Don’t be like me, with a burnt out Kitchenaid, slowly gathering dust and grease on your counter as you long after a replacement. I enjoyed this, even if it made me miss mine.

  2. Thanks for the comment. Our kitchenaid has yet to get its full test … we only used the hand mixer so far. Looking forward to harnessing its full power. Thanks, too, for the tip on using the meat grinder. The last thing we’d ever want is to kill the motor and be left without the Kitchenaid heading into other projects.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

